Salam! - That's Azerbaijani and means hello!

Salam! - That's Azerbaijani and means hello! 
Where is Azerbaijani spoken? 
Azerbaijani is the official language of the Republic of Azerbaijan (Azərbaycan Respublikası). There the language is also called Azerbaijani-Turkish. Many speakers of Azerbaijani live in Iran, Iraq and Turkey. Small groups of people who claim Azerbaijani as their mother tongue live in Georgia, Russia, Ukraine, Armenia, Kazakhstan and Syria. 
Azerbaijani - a Turkic language 
Azerbaijani belongs to the family of Turkic languages. The Azerbaijani language is one of the largest languages of this language family along with Turkish and Uzbek. 
The Turkic languages are characterized by their agglutinating language structure. In order to learn and understand Azerbaijani, Turkish or Uzbek, for example, you must first understand what an agglutinating language is. The word agglutination comes from Latin and means clumping or sticking together. The central principle of this type of language construction is the suffix. A suffix is a suffix that is added to the end of a word and thus changes or expands the meaning of the word. One can add several suffixes one after the other to a word and thus further specify its meaning. 
Thus the words in the Turk languages become longer and longer the more information they contain. There are many different types of suffixes that can be added to a word. 
However, you should not be deterred by the differences between Azerbaijani and German, because once you have understood the basic principle, you will enjoy learning and progress quickly. As a learner, you will benefit from the fact that Azerbaijani has been written in Latin letters using the Turkish alphabet since 1992. Previously, the Arabic alphabet was used, followed by the Cyrillic alphabet.

Translated with